I’ve talked a lot about how I don’t use Frankincense (because of the plant’s status), and how I’m trying to make sure and keep in mind the ecological impact of my practice. So what do I offer in place of those substances? 

Here are two of the recipes I use for incense for Hekate, composed of things that I generally have at home. They’re not based so much on what is historically offered (though bay and myrrh are very traditional) and are inspired instead by my own experiences with Her. 

Recipe 1

2 parts bay leaf
3 pinches each of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and jasmine tea
1 part myrrh gum
1 part sage
3 parts rose petals
1 part white oak bark
1 tsp honey
Blend together in a mortar and pestle, allow to dry.

Recipe 2

3 parts rose petals
3 leaves of bay
1 tbsp jasmine tea
1 tsp each of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg
3 pinches of chamomile
2 tsp myrrh gum
Grind well together in a mortar and pestle.

