bayoread:

pomegranateandivy:

damnit-baby-damnit:

pomegranateandivy:

bayoread:

eupheme-butterfly:

damnit-baby-damnit:

I don’t understand Hellenists that pick and choose which gods they worship. How do you believe in a set of gods and decide that some of them are beneath your worship?

I’ve never seen this happen?  Then again, I’ve been pretty busy as of late.

This…doesn’t happen? Even in historical sources Ancient Greeks didn’t actively make offerings to every single deity ever.

And just because we don’t develop a relationship with a deity, doesn’t mean we think they’re “beneath” our worship. We can still love and respect the theoi we don’t have personal relationships with.

Not what I was talking about. I meant the people that say “I don’t worship X”. I have been seeing a lot of statements like that, which bother me. 

Acknowledging the power and existence of a god does not obligate one to worship. I don’t worship Artemis. She has made it clear I’m not welcome near her. It has nothing to do with her worth, and everything to do with mine. You have no idea why a person may believe in the Greek gods but not worship specific ones, and you’re initial statement comes across very judgemental.

I don’t worship Apollo, he doesn’t like me. It is mutually beneficial for me not to actively worship him. That doesn’t mean I disrespect him.

Having never gone to war, I don’t have a relationship with Ares. It’s nothing against him. 

