thesigilwitch:

I’ll do my best!

  • There is never enough research. Really. You are going to be studying and learning through your whole witchy journey. I still am; I learn something new every day, and I love it. As a knowledge leech I love that part of witchcraft – spending hours reading up on various things. (No one said it was easy :p)
  • With the tons of research that comes with studying witchcraft, it’d be good to keep a notebook (or grimoire) to keep all your findings in. Write down spells, references, correspondences, rituals if you plan to use them, anything you think you’ll need to know or want to know when it comes to practicing your craft. I keep my blog for this purpose, though without internet it’s kind of hard to access at all times, so I keep a physical book as well. And it doesn’t have to be any fancy leather bound anything – I have spiral notebooks and an obnoxious orange binder :p
  • Find your own path. Take some time to figure out what it is you want from witchcraft, what you don’t want; what you like and what you really would rather not go near. Do you have any expectations? Is there an end goal? Do you want to use it just for a certain time, or indefinitely? Figuring out who you are and what you want can be a very important thing to help you realize your path and where you want to take it.
  • Don’t be worried if you can’t practice every day. I only really use magic when I need it, and that’s fine too. Don’t beat yourself up for missing the moon phases or sabbats or whatnot. It happens. We all have lives outside of witchcraft, and it’s important to maintain the rest of your life and other interests as well. The point of this was supposed to be, don’t feel bad for not going 150% with witchcraft all the time.
  • Also, when it comes to supplies, particularly herb related, the grocery store is more than fine. Like 90% of my herbs have come from there, either dried or fresh. It’s still the same herb, same genus, same biological build, it will work. The whole “witchcraft is organic” stuff that I’ve seen floating around is bunk. Get what you can afford, and don’t worry about the rest of it.
  • Honestly, even if you *can’t* afford ingredients, it’s no big deal. Witchcraft is about your intent and your energies, and how you work with them to bring about a desired effect. Spell components like herbs and crystals and all that are just bolsters to what’s really important – your desire to induce a certain outcome. They have uses, yes, and they help, yes, but they’re not all important. You can be a successful witch without all the fancy herbs or rare crystals. 
  • It’s okay if you only stick to pre-written spells by other people. Some people don’t have the energy, or the full knowledge, to yet write their own spells, and that’s perfectly fine. There’s nothing wrong with referencing another witch’s work. 
  • That being said, you also shouldn’t feel tied down to what is written. Experimentation is encouraged, to help personalize things to you. If you’re looking at a spell and think “hmm based off what I know I want to try this herb instead” totally go for it. Give it a go, write down your results. Personal associations for objects in spellcraft are JUST AS powerful, if not more so in some ways. 
  • Believe in yourself. Really. It’s so corny and cliche, but your magic will be so much more powerful if you have confidence in it and in yourself. Feel empowered by the awesomeness of being a witch and working with spells. 

With all that being said, I’m also going to give you some links for more posts to check out. I covered a lot here, but there’s so much more than that, and it’s good to look at different perspectives to help you decide 🙂 These are a compilation of FAQs, useful pointers, and other things that would be good for a beginner to check out. :3

I am also currently in love with tarigrove‘s [witchcraft 101] tag. :3

There you have it! Probably more than you expected or wanted, but I tend to go zero or ten :p I hope that helps you, and best of luck to you on your path! 😀

